About P4

The P4-Dev framework describes a new type of organizational structure for companies that develop physical products. Together with its sister framework, the P4-Ops for operational business, P4-Dev describes a holistic operating system for product development in modern organizations that implement the principles of lean and agility.

Pragmatic Paradigms, Principals & Practices for Development

The P4-Dev Framework (P4 for short) is based on the Scrum framework and extends this with additional levels in order to be able to map organizations of size between 30 and approx. 1000 people (aka scaling). At these levels, additional roles, artifacts and events are defined according to the Scrum principles. Alternatively to Scrum, teams can also use Kanban.

P4 is divided into the description of Roles, Artifacts and Events:

  • Roles: The description of the organization in the form of single roles, teams and groups
  • Artifacts: The backlogs, backlog elements and element types, as well as the results and products
  • Events: periods and meetings and their content

Many of the pragmatic principles and practices described are known from other systems and frameworks and are integrated holistically in the P4 framework:

Why another agile scaling framework?

Although there are a number of frameworks for scaling agility, they lack some elements that are particularly necessary for the development of physical products and complex systems. Therefore, we have integrated the following additional elements into the P4 framework:

Extensions

In addition to the practices described above, tried and tested elements from classic methods are integrated into the “P4 toolbox”, such as requirements and test management, as well as model-based development from systems engineering.

Since P4 is a framework, other beneficial and deemed necessary practices can be integrated. However, it is essential to ensure that the P4 principles are observed ( see P4 principles ).

What is different from the classic matrix organization?

A classic matrix organization usually consists of the specialist departments (the lines) and a project organization in which interdisciplinary collaboration is carried out in many parallel projects. Each employee usually works in several projects at the same time. In large companies there is sometimes a third dimension, which divides the line organization into an international and a location-based line with the corresponding additional superiors (sometimes referred to as “dotted line”).

In today’s world of work, this “serving several masters” is often a problem, since most of the work is done in the projects, but the project managers are often less empowered and in the event of a conflict, the line managers usually prevail. This is reinforced by the large number of line managers in the interdisciplinary project team, who are mostly driven by different goals, local efficiencies and act in different directions.

In modern agile frameworks, such as P4-Dev, the balance of power of the matrix is ​​reversed: the team that is stable over time and in which an employee is located has the strongest “bond” and is allocated the most capacity of the employee, ideally 100%. An employee works for several teams (Extended Team member) only in exceptional cases. The type of team (in P4 “team flavor”) regulates whether a team works interdisciplinary with product responsibility, partly interdisciplinary with Component / Module responsibility or as a specialist group, e.g. as a service team with a certain technical competence.

The technical line merges into the so-called “Communities-of-practice, where the employees exchange content, where training takes place, and technologies and tools are maintained and further developed.

Teams that work together on the same products organize themselves in a cluster, similar to the “Agile Release Train”, the “Value Stream” or the “Program Level” in other agile frameworks. The overall organization consists of several Clusters that are responsible for different product areas. This creates clear priorities as well as a high degree of coherence between the goals and responsibility of the teams in the cluster.

In P4 there are no projects, no project managers and no project teams. Contents of product development projects are represented in the backlogs of the Organization, the Clusters and the Teams. The projects most closely correspond to the system or application versions (releases) planned at the Organization/Portfolio level.

Continue reading? How to implement P4 (An agile Journey).

.


Further suitable links:

Events Roles Groups Artifacts
Team Planning

Team Sync

Team Backlog Refinement

Team Review

Team Retrospective

.

Cluster Planning

Cluster Sync

Cluster Backlog Refinement

Cluster Review

Cluster Retrospective

.

Portfolio Planning

Organisation Sync

Portfolio Refinement

Portfolio Review

Organisation Retrospective

Team Product Owner

Team System Engineer

Team Scrum Master

.

Cluster Product Owner

Cluster System Engineer

Cluster Scrum Master

.

Portfolio Owner

Portfolio Architect

Organisation Scrum Master

Working Team

Community of Practice

.

Team Product Owner Group

Team System Engineer Group

Team Scrum Master Group

Cluster Management Circle

.

Cluster Product Owner Group

Cluster System Engineer Group

Cluster Scrum Master Group

Organisation Management Circle

Team Backlog

Inspectable Results

Team DoD

Team Improvement Backlog

.

Cluster Backlog

Usable Knowledge & System Increment

Cluster DoD

Cluster Improvement Backlog

.

Portfolio Backlog

Systems & Applications

System Platforms & Variants

Organisation DoD

Organisation Improvement Backlog

Über P4

Das P4-Dev-Framework beschreibt eine neue Art der Organisationsstruktur für den Unternehmen die physische Produkte entwickeln. Zusammen mit seinem Schwester-Framework, dem P4-Ops für das operative Geschäft, beschreibt P4-Dev ein ganzheitliches Betriebssystem für die Produktentstehung in modernen Organisationen, die die Prinzipien von Lean und Agilität umsetzen.

Pragmatic Paradigms, Principals & Practices for Development

Das P4-Dev Framework (kurz P4) lehnt sich an das Scrum-Framework an und erweitert dies durch zusätzliche Ebenen, um damit Organisationen der Größe zwischen 30 und ca. 1000 Personen abbilden zu können (Skalierung). Auf diesen Ebenen werden zusätzliche Rollen, Artefakte und Events gemäß der Scrum-Prinzipien definiert. Teams können, neben Scrum, auch Kanban einsetzen.

P4 gliedert sich dabei in die Beschreibung von Rollen, Artefakten und Events:

  • Rollen: Die Beschreibung der Organisation in Form von Einzelrollen, Teams und Gruppen
  • Artefakte: Die Backlogs, Backlog-Elemente und Elementtypen, sowie die Ergebnisse und Produkte
  • Events: Zeiträume und Meetings, sowie deren Inhalte

Viele der beschriebenen pragmatischen Prinzipien und Praktiken sind aus anderen Systemen und Frameworks bekannt und werden im P4-Framework ganzheitlich integriert:

Warum noch ein agiles skalierendes Framework?

Obwohl es schon eine Reihe von Frameworks zur Skalierung von Agilität gibt, fehlen diesen einige Elemente, die insbesondere für die Entwicklung von physischen Produkten und komplexen Systemen nötig sind. Daher haben wir u.A. folgende weitere Elemente in das P4-Framework integriert:

Erweiterungen

Über die oben beschriebenen Praktiken hinaus, werden erprobte Elemente aus klassischen Methoden in den „P4-Werkzeugkasten“ integriert, wie z.B. Anforderungs- und Testmanagement, sowie modellbasierte Entwicklung aus dem Systems-Engineering.

Da es sich bei P4 um ein Rahmenwerk handelt, können weitere nutzbringende und als nötig erachtete Praktiken integriert werden. Dabei ist aber unbedingt darauf zu achten, dass die P4-Prinzipien eingehalten werden (siehe P4-Prinzipien).

Was ist anders zur klassischen Matrixorganisation?

Eine klassische Matrixorganisation besteht i.d.R. aus den fachlichen Abteilungen (den Linien) und einer Projektorganisation, in der in vielen parallelen Projekten interdisziplinär zusammengearbeitet wird. Jeder Mitarbeiter arbeitet dabei meist in mehreren Projekten gleichzeitig. In großen Firmen gibt es manchmal noch eine dritte Dimension, die die Linienorganisation in eine international übergreifende und eine standortbezogene Linie aufteilt mit den entsprechenden zusätzlichen Vorgesetzten (manchmal als „dotted line“ bezeichnet).

In der heutigen Arbeitswelt ist dieses „Dienen mehrerer Herren“ häufig ein Problem, da zwar die meiste Arbeit in den Projekten geschieht, die Projektleiter aber häufig mit deutlich weniger Befugnissen ausgestattet sind und sich im Konfliktfall meist die Linienvorgesetzten durchsetzen. Dies wird verstärkt durch die Vielzahl der Linienvorgesetzten im interdisziplinären Projektteam, die meist durch unterschiedliche Ziele getrieben, in verschiedene Richtungen agieren.

In modernen agilen Frameworks, wie P4-Dev, werden die Machtverhältnisse der Matrix umgekehrt: Das über die Zeit stabile Team, in dem sich ein Mitarbeiter befindet, hat die stärkste „Bindung“ und bekommt die meiste Kapazität des Mitarbeiters zugeteilt, idealerweise 100%. Nur in Ausnahmefällen arbeitet ein Mitarbeiter für mehrere Teams (Extended-Team-Mitglied). Dabei regelt die Art des Teams (in P4 „Team-Flavor“ genannt), ob ein Team interdisziplinär mit Produktverantwortung arbeitet, teilweise interdisziplinär mit Komponenten-/Modulverantwortung oder als fachliche Gruppe, z.B. als Dienstleitungsteam einer bestimmten technischen Kompetenz.

Die fachliche Linie geht in den sogenannten “Communities-of-Practice“ auf, in denen sich die Mitarbeiter inhaltlich austauschen, wo Ausbildung stattfindet, sowie Technologien und Werkzeuge gepflegt und weiterentwickelt werden.

Teams, die zusammen an gleichen Produkten arbeiten organisieren sich im sogenannten Cluster, ähnlich dem „Agile Release Train“, dem „Value Stream“ oder der „Programm-Ebene“ in anderen agilen Frameworks. Die Gesamtorganisation besteht aus mehreren Clustern, die unterschiedliche Produktbereiche verantworten. Hierdurch entsteht eine hohe Kohärenz der Ziele und Verantwortung der Teams im Cluster.

In P4 gibt es keine Projekte, keine Projektleiter und keine Projektteams. Inhalte von Produktentwicklungsvorhaben werden in den Backlogs der Organisation, der Cluster und der Teams dargestellt. Am ehesten entsprechen den Projekten die auf Portfolio-Ebene geplanten System- oder Applikationsversionen (Releases).

.


Passende und weiterführende Artikel:

Events Rollen Gruppen Artefakte
Team-Planning

Team-Sync

Team-Backlog-Refinement

Team-Review

Team-Retrospektive

.

Cluster-Planning

Cluster-Sync

Cluster-Backlog-Refinement

Cluster-Review

Cluster-Retrospective

.

Portfolio-Planung

Organisations-Sync

Portfolio-Refinement

Portfolio-Review

Organisations-Retrospektive

Team-Product-Owner

Team-System-Engineer

Team-Scrum-Master

.

Cluster-Product-Owner

Cluster-System-Engineer

Cluster-Scrum-Master

.

Portfolio-Owner

Portfolio-Architekt

Organisations-Scrum-Master

Working-Team

Community-of-Practice

.

Team-Product-Owner-Gruppe

Team-System-Engineer-Gruppe

Team-Scrum-Master-Gruppe

Managementkreis des Clusters

.

Cluster-Product-Owner-Gruppe

Cluster-System-Engineer-Gruppe

Cluster-Scrum-Master-Gruppe

Managementkreis der Organisation

Team-Backlog

Inspizierbare-Ergebnisse

Team-DoD

Team-Improvement-Backlog

.

Cluster-Backlog

Nutzbares-Wissen & System-Inkrement

Cluster-DoD

Cluster-Improvement-Backlog

.

Portfolio-Backlog

Systeme & Applikationen

System-Plattformen & Varianten

Organisations-DoD

Organisations-Improvement-Backlog